Representing estates and facilities professionals operating within the  



Our Health Heroes – vote for your finalists now

Voting is now open for the final four categories in the Our Health Heroes Awards 2019. Anyone can vote for the healthcare workers they think have gone above and beyond the call of duty via the Skills for Health website (click here to be redirected). 


Twelve regional winners have been named for the Operational Services Support Worker Award and the Clinical Support Worker Award. An overall national winner for each category will be decided via the public vote. Further two categories – Apprentice of the Year and the Outstanding Contribution finalists will be awarded Gold, Silver and Bronze. There is more detail about each of the finalists on the Skills for Health website. Here is the shortlist.


Operational Services Support Worker Award:

Claire Hands – Senior Clinical Secretary, Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust

Heather Butler – Finance and Reporting Analyst, The Cornerstone Practice

Charlotte Rushton – Discharge Co-ordinator, Northern Devon Healthcare Trust

Wayne Ingram – Kitchen Manager, Lovett Care Limited

Pauling Symington – Service Assistant, South Easter Trust

Annabel Little – Business Manager, St George’s University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Helen Lumber – PA to the Assistant Director of Paramedicine, Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust

Reg Ramsden – Laundry Manager, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

Sarah Woods – Learning and Development Administrator, Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

Tracey Underhill – Freedom to Speak Up Guardian, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Carl Brooks – Health Care Support Worker, NHS Orkney

Dawn Nicholson – Support Worker, HFT


Clinical Support Worker Award:

Kelly Stuart – Meaningful Activities Facilitator, UHL NHS Trust

Katrina Lavery – Dementia Activity Support Worker, Gillis Memory Centre SHSCT

Emma Worrell – Maxillofacial Prosthetist, Queen Victoria Hospital

Jackie Fizsimons – Healthcare Assistant, West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Paul Foster – Care Support Worker, Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust

Peter Haddow – Support Worker, Northumberland Tyne and Wear

Olivia Gillon – Apprentice Clinical Support Worker, Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Nicolette Mahon – Maternity Support Worker, Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospital

Richard Gray – CSW/Blood Borne Virus Prevention, NHS Lothian’s Harm Reduction Team

Jade Benjamin – Occupational Therapy Support Worker, Cwm Taf Morgannwg UHB

Janet Pagdanganan – Safeguarding Assistant, The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Pauline Urvoy – Community Nursery Nurse, CNWL 0-19 Southwest Hub


Apprentice of the Year:

Sophie Pomroy – Business Administration and Organisational Development Apprentice, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Ciaran Jones – Radiotherapy Engineering Apprentice, University Hospital of North Midlands

Patrick Onyema – Apprentice Nursing Associate, North East London NHS Foundation Trust


Outstanding Contribution Award:

Sarah Armer – Specialist Dietitian, South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Christine Ginsburg – Palliative Care Discharge Coordinator, Mountbatten hospice

Janet Callaghan – Team Leader Treatment Rooms, Manchester Local Care Organisation.


Organised by Skills for Health and headline sponsor Health Education England, Our Health Heroes has been celebrating unsung healthcare heroes from across the UK since 2016.


The 34 finalists and team category winners have been invited to the Our Health Heroes Awards ceremony, where the 24 regional and eight national winners will be presented with their awards, on Wednesday November 20, 2019 at London’s Science Museum.


Voting closes on October 11.