Representing estates and facilities professionals operating within the  



Our Health Heroes: final call for nominations

Now in their fourth year, Our Health Heroes are the only national healthcare awards which recognise clinical and operational staff who are often in roles considered behind-the-scenes, but who make up more than 40% of the NHS, the UK’s biggest employer.


The deadline for nominations for the 2019 awards is Friday, July 19 and winners will be announced at a ceremony at London’s Science Museum on Wednesday, November 20.


Celebrating the hard work and dedication of healthcare staff at the awards ceremony will be TV’s Dr Dawn Harper and former doctor and best-selling author Adam Kay. Dr Dawn Harper, best known for her appearances on Channel 4’s Embarrassing Bodies and Born Naughty? will host the national Our Health Heroes awards, while best-selling author of This is Going to Hurt, Adam Kay, is due to give a special performance during the ceremony.


Nominations are welcome from members of the public and healthcare professionals and everyone who submits a nomination will be in with a chance to win tickets to attend the award ceremony, where they can enjoy afternoon tea and catch a preview of Adam’s current tour.


The categories for this year’s awards are:


• Outstanding Contribution Award - sponsored by NHS Employers

• Clinical Support Worker of the Year (this award has 12 regional finalists and one national winner)

• Operational Services Support Worker of the Year - sponsored by UNISON (this award has 12 regional finalists and one national winner)

• Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by UNISON

• Staff Wellbeing Employer of the Year Award

• Workforce Planning Team of the Year

• Integrated Team of the Year

• Learning and Development Project/Team of the Year Award – sponsored by Kissing it Better


Entries will be shortlisted by an expert panel after the deadline. The regional winners and some category finalists will be put to the public vote, before the eight overall national winners are announced at the ceremony in November.


Click here to make a nomination, and be entered into the prize draw.